A Touch Of Whimsy – And, Who Am I?

In my opinion, this is the question with which We shall leave: ‘What did I do that was truly of significance?’

Our Tombstones will be scripted by Others, most of the time Charitably. We shall Not be visiting these stones to assess Our Satisfaction. That One question will be the one with which We shall be spending Eternity.

If I had followed standards set by others, my ‘Self’ will keep berating me. Because it has its own standards. And it will not be Fooled.

Altogether, it is a question of ‘What Useful thing have I done?’

Who Am I?

And so, we come to the question that has plagued me since birth. Has it plagued you?

Who am I?

I was a son, till my father died. I am a father, husband, friend and lover.

I was a corporate executive. Now, I am not. Am I a struggling entrepreneur?

Am I a dilettante? Or, am I a scholar?

Am I a fully truthful person? Or, do I tell little lies and thus become a chronic liar?

When I was young, I was told to be a man. When I asked the people around me what it means to be a man, I was told be tough, macho. Hard drinking, hard swearing. Catch the woman,swing her up onto the horse, and gallop into the distance.

Now, they tell me to be a man. When I ask the people around me what it means to be a man, I am told…

View original post 245 more words

One comment

Leave a Reply

