An EXCELLENT piece on HAPPINESS!

Thomas Matthew is one of my Facebook, and Real life Friends. He had shared this in Fb. His Student, Raghavan, has written this.

WELL WORTH READING.

And, by the way, For those interested, some suggestions for iPhones from good ole me!

Apple iPhone 6 Gold, 64GB 62.5K

That simple little thing above is the Apple iPhone 6 Gold, 64 GB, and costs a mere 62.5 thousand rupees.

They also have the one below:

16 croresThis is Apple’s Something Something phone, and costs just, …wait, SIXTEEN CRORES!

Now, to the Article:

*******

Thomas Matthew had introduced it thus: A SHARE FROM RAGAVAN, MY STUDENT WHO TOO LOVES TO WRITE LONG…….

“Yesterday, I was at the driving wheel, and the FM radio went off for a few seconds. I thought, I should have taken my iPod. Then I realized suddenly that I had not used my iPod for the past 6 months. And then,,,,, more things,,,,,,, Handy cam in the last 2 years, Digital Camera in the last 2 months, DVD player in last 1 month and many more.

Now I can say that I bought that Handy cam just out of sheer impulse… I have used it only twice in the last 4 years.So, what’s wrong and where?

When I look at myself or my friends I can see it happening everywhere. We are not happy with what we have; but all are stressed and unhappy for the things we don’t have. You have a Santro, but you want City; You have a City, but you want Skoda. Just after buying a new phone, we need another one. A better laptop, bigger TV, faster car, bigger house, more money,,, and the examples are endless.

The point is: ‘Is it actually worth’?

Do we ever think if we actually NEED those things before we want them?

After this, I was forced to think what I need and what I don’t. May be I didn’t need this Handy cam or the iPod or that DVD player.

When I look at my father back at home.,,, He has a simple BPL colour TV, he doesn’t need 32″ Sony LCD wall mount. He has a cell phone worth Rs 2,500. Whenever I ask him to change the phone, he says calmly, “It’s a phone; I need this just for calls.”And believe me; he is much happier in life than I am with these limited resources and simple gadgets.

The very basic reason why he is happy with so little is that he doesn’t want things in life to make life luxurious, but he wants only those things which are making his life easier. It’s a very fine line between these two, but after looking at my father’s lifestyle closely, I got the point. He needs a cell phone but not the iPhone. He needs a TV but not the 32″ plasma. He needs a car but not an expensive one.

Initially I had a lot of questions….I am earning well; still I am not happy…why? I have all luxury about me; still I am stressed…. ……why? I had a great weekend, still I am feeling tired…… why?

I have met a lot of people,…. I have thought over it again and again; I still don’t know if I have got the answers. But I certainly figured out a few things… I realize that one thing which is keeping me stressed is the “stay connected” syndrome. I realized that, at home also I am logged in on messengers, checking mails, using social networks, and on the top of that, the windows mobile does not let me be disconnected. Even on the weekends, trying to avoid unwanted calls keeps my mind full of stress inevitably.

I realized that I am spending far less money than what I earn; even then I am always worried about money and more money feeling insecure….

I realized that I am saving more money than I would ever need. Still I am stressed about job and salary and my spendings.

May be, many people will call this approach a “non-progressive attitude”, but I want my life back.

Ultimately it’s a single life, a day gone is a day gone. I believe if I am not happy tonight, I’ll never be happy tomorrow morning.

I finally realized that meeting friends, spending quality time with your loved ones, spending time with yourself….. is the most important thing.

If on a Sunday you are alone and you don’t have anybody to talk to and you begin to feel lonely, then all those luxuries of life, all that money you saved is wasted.

May be cutting down your requirements, re-calculating your future goal in the light of today’s happiness is a worthwhile thing to do.

May be, selling off your Santro and buying Honda City on EMIs is not a good idea. I believe, putting our happiness ahead of money is the choice we need to make.

I think, a lot can be said and done but what we need the most is re-evaluation of the value of happiness and time we are giving to our life and people associated with it…

Think about it….. (Having more money is as problematic as not having enough money !!!!)

*******

Formatting in Raghavan’s article is mine.

*******

PS: This post is receiving very good comments. Please Do Read them. Regards.

12 comments

  1. Loved it. ‘Keeping with the Joneses’ syndrome. The more technology gives us connections, the more disconnected we get.
    I don’t deny the comfort, the advances, the leap ahead. But maybe every family should have rules – no phones at dinner time or something.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderfully written by Raghavan. I couldn’t agree more. What I do to make a difference in this regard, is buying much of what I need second hand. That way you at least not fall prey to consumerism in all parts of my life (like chasing for new more expensive stuff). But I must admit to being an avid iPhone user… I just can’t help it…

    I do at least one more thing actually, come to think about it. I have a garden and grow some food there, not much but enough to help me get more happy, then just working my ordinary job, and just buying all my food in the store. Of course I have parts of the garden just dedicated to ordinary flowers, and so I make it my business to literally smell the roses, as a part of my every day life… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good post and very true. It’s such a materialistic world and we don’t need half of it. I never change any technology unless it’s broken, never to keep up with anyone. I don’t like waste of any description as so many people need things they will never be able to have.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice,,, Ragavan was my student and I was his scoutmaster too..He was one of those students who made the teacher proud… Now, he is the M.D. of the erstwhile Polymer TV now called by another name with its office in Erode.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

