In Praise of my Parents

*******

[ Hello, Folks! Am editing this a bit, as directly Under, and Re-posting it.

The Point is that Most of Our Parents have Sacrificed themselves for Us, so that Our lives could become, in Every Way, Better than Theirs! …We All of Us would do Well at this moment to take, and Make, a little Time, to Recall their Great points, and tell them, whether they are in This world or the Next, that we Appreciate All that they have done, and that we Love them for It! ]

*******

[Below is the Original article:]

I think that the Best thing I can write about my Dear Parents, and the Best Tribute I can pay them is to mention that –

I have Never seen them Fighting!

I rank that Accolade very high, and am very proud of that fact. Happily, they are Together once again in the Heavens! Am Happy for Them!

Below, I give You my Favourite photos of theirs. Both of them loved to read, my father had a goodly library; and like him, my mother too had three languages!

*******

My Dad

My father, Anthony Ponnou, was a Supervisor in the Indian Railways, and he had No bad habits!

His family had been to Burma, but had to return during WWII. He lost many of his relatives during the journey, which told on him severely indeed.

He was a Strict Disciplinarian, and I owe it to him that I am what I am today, and can (and do) stand Tall, in front of Really tall Odds.

He was a Very Loving Man too.

*******

Both my Parents were very Sacrificing kind of persons. All of us had assigned ‘duties!’ My job was to keep the Furniture clean, do the marketing, and polish the foot wear, particularly for Sundays.

My Dad washed all our clothes, (no washing machines then; it was all manual). This was His way of showing his love for my Mother, lightening her load of work.

He would also go to work Walking, as he could not ‘Cycle,’ as his lungs were not too good. He could have taken the Cycle Rickshaws, but that would have ‘told’ on the family budget.

As for my Mother, Jean D’Arc Ponnou, I remember that I used to gorge up her Tasty Vegetables, and she was left with just Gravy many a time. I realized this quite late.

My Mom

I do believe I could write much more in this vein. I am Proud to have had them as my Parents. I Thank the Good Lord for having given them to me and to my Brother and Sisters.

*******

22 comments

  1. What a beautiful tribute to your parents, Baba! I love the photos of both of them. They have instilled Light and Love into your heart and soul, which I can see and feel shines brightly from such a great distance!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awww they sound and look like totally beautiful people! I just went back to my small hometown in Illinois for my 20-year high school reunion and spent more time with my folks than I have in years. It is so refreshing and empowering to know where you come from! Many many blessings, Kalisha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank You, my Dear Kalisha! In this day and age, when We find so many people with feet of clay, I look back and see that my Parents were Great Indeed!

      Glad You spent time with Yours. It is indeed ‘refreshing and empowering’ to go back to one’s Roots, places of origin and the People of those times. They had Values.

      Hearty Regards and Love to You and Yours. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank You, my Dear Alok. Though I am not sure what habits in me You are referring to! In any case, I have been blessed with Great Parents, Gurus and the support and Love of Many indeed. I am Deeply Grateful to All of them.

      Thanks for Your own Love and Support too, as well as all that of the Blogging Family of ours! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

