More On the Subject of Giving

Giving is deemed Blessed from Ages. This means that Humankind has learnt this from Long Experience.

Christ has praised this, in the Parable of the Widow’s Mite, Mark 12:41-44, and Luke 21:1-4., as my Friend Sarah pointed out. You might like to check out her site:

https://anglosaxonceltcreates.wordpress.com/

The Famous Prayer of St. Francis puts this Idea in the words: ‘It is in Giving that We Receive!’

Prayer of St. Francis

And Rabindra Nath Tagore, who won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1913, presents this Beautifully in his 50th poem in the Gitanjali, as follows:

I had gone a-begging from door to door in the village path,
when thy golden chariot appeared in the distance like a
gorgeous dream and I wondered who was this King of all kings!

My hopes rose high and methought my evil days were at an
end, and I stood waiting for alms to be given unasked and for
wealth scattered on all sides in the dust.

The chariot stopped where I stood. Thy glance fell on me and
thou camest down with a smile. I felt that the luck of my life
had come at last. Then of a sudden thou didst hold out thy
right hand and say `What hast thou to give to me?’

Ah, what a kingly jest was it to open thy palm to a beggar to
beg! I was confused and stood undecided, and then from my
wallet I slowly took out the least little grain of corn and gave it to thee.

But how great my surprise when at the day’s end I emptied my
bag on the floor to find a least little gram of gold among the
poor heap. I bitterly wept and wished that I had had the heart
to give thee my all.

[Formatting and Emphasis mine.]

In my previous post I had mentioned Dennis Cardiff. Here I would like to present to You another Brave Man, Daniel, who gave up his All to Follow Christ’s injunctions. His post, Write a peom about me, is Superb! Do Check out:

https://danielsion.wordpress.com/2015/11/19/write-a-poem-about-me/

Hearty Regards to All. 🙂

4 comments

  1. Such beautiful verses Baba. I’m so glad my reblog inspired you to post them. This is your lesson in action. I shared your words and was rewarded greatly. Thank you and God bless you.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

