How I have Finally Beaten the Summer!

*******

Summer in India means about 5 months (April to August) of something like 35+ degrees C in the sun, and the shade is not much cooler. Even in Our so called Winter, from about November to February, the day sun would clock that.

Those who live in houses with Tile Roofing, like me, just get Slowly Roasted.

I always used to have a Hard time during summers. …Can’t afford ACs! Too expensive to buy and to run (electricity bills!). Air Coolers, which I had tried, last just about 2 or 3 years. Then its Innards Rust, and You just have to throw it away. And these cost 7 to 9 thousand!

I had seen over the net, how people would hang wet towels and things on trowels, and let the air pass over it. My problem? Space! My room measures some 15 feet by 10 feet, (some 5 metres by 3).

East

West

I used to keep the Floor of my room Wet, which I found, needs 3 Refillings of my 750 litre water tank, a day! Too wasteful, and not very effective, either.

Water on the Floor

That is the Water on the floor, my Dear Folks!

Then I have switched to this:

The AC

That is the Curtain of my WC, on which I have arranged a slow dripping of water, with a fan behind it. Hey Presto! My own Homemade Air cooler!

And now the temperature inside my room is:

Hygometer c

Yes, 30.5 degrees. The Humidity level is 81%, which does not bother me [ But it Does bother my Computer and its Kin! 😦 ]. And all this at 1:30 PM, while the temperature outside is easily a goodly 7 degrees higher, reaching  45 degrees at times!

Oh, Well, Small work! Because, as You see, as my Mom had photographed me, I am Simply a Genius! …I sent my Modesty to the Market to write that last sentence! πŸ™‚

Genius

My Floor is Still Wet, which also I do not mind. So if YOU would not mind all those Wet floors and Humidity, etc, You are Welcome to try this! πŸ™‚

*******

21 comments

  1. For your American readers: Inside, 30.5 C = 86.9 F; outside, 45 C = 113 F. Yiikes!!! For 5 months? And I thought 4 was out of the question. What is it that people like about this hateful season, anyway? (at least winter has been COLD in most of the places I have lived, glory hallelujah – gave my brain a chance to gather itself for a bit – grateful, grateful, grateful!)
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    PS. Thanks for liking my post about Summer taking early retirement

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for that, my Dear Madelyn!

      If I may say so, there are No ‘Likable’ seasons like the Spring in India. Spring lasts but days.

      And though I have taught myself not to hate anything, including blasted Mr. Summer (Haha), if I could, and were to design a world, I would like to do it …quite differently!

      I think people from the very cold countries like summer, and I DO believe they like it because THEY TAKE IT IN SMALL DOSES! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • When you’re right, you’re right! VERY small doses. πŸ™‚

        If I designed the world I would fix *many* things – and no doubt mess up more than a few more in the process. But summer would definitely not be allowed to hang around quite as long or as hot.

        I’m still working on that hate thing, myself – nice to know that it is possible to eliminate it entirely. Congrats.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      • After writing about designing new worlds, I felt quite Embarrassed! I Believe Very much in my Creator and His Goodness and Wisdom. Am sure You are too! Your ‘no doubt mess up more than a few more in the process’ says it very well!

        Thank God We have Methods to get by all these things!

        Am Actually a Sannyasi, You know! And have had plenty of time to work on the hate and things like that!

        It is a Definite that We cannot even Like Everything. But We could limit ourselves to Dislike, – which is more ‘business-like!’ – than to go all the way to Hate!

        Love and Regards, my Dear! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Many people seem to have the Idea that the Sannyasi is supposed to do Nothing.

        Not at all. One of the meanings of the word Sannyasi is ‘One who Walks with God.’

        So We Walk with Him, See with Him, Get Moved with Him, and Imbued by His Spirit, Act and be Instruments for Him, bringing Relief and Happiness to Our Other brothers and sisters.

        We Renounce what I would call Luxury for the sake of Luxury, and Pleasure for Its sake.

        For instance, when I have to travel long distances Frequently, I would like to travel by ‘Air Buses,’ without which We not only develop backaches, but are also subjected to a horribly bumpy ride. …After all, the purpose of life is to bring Happiness and to Make the World a Better place. That would hardly be achieved with a Tired Mind.

        Just because We become Sannyasis, Our bodies do not turn to Steel or Wood.

        And about Taste. There IS taste in Rice, Pulses, Vegetables and Fruit. I refuse to Eat them without Enjoying them. The Father, (God, the Lord) is named ‘Anand’ in India. That means Joy.

        I am a Teetotaler, but enjoy Tea and Coffee. I Enjoy People’s Company, etc, etc!

        Blogging? If a Sannyasi can Speak (The Shankaracharya, Vivekananda, Buddha, not to say Christ), Why can’t he write? πŸ™‚

        Love and Regards, my Dear Madelyn, and Thank You for that nice question! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank You, but You Embarrass me, my Dear Anna! What great thing am I doing to deserve such praise?

      And Sure, not just Cooler Weather, but Good Rains, as the Fields are Drying and Ground Water Level is going low.

      Regards. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

