The Meaning of: Be Strong

*******

Note: I consider this SO Useful, that, for Better Visibility, shall not be posting anything till Monday! …This is NOT about (any) Religion. It is about Fighting against Our Weaknesses.

Today I learnt what I would call a Very Good meaning of the words: “Be Strong (in the Lord)”. (Ephesians 6:10, etc). And for me, at least, this a Very Important lesson.

I understood the meaning of Be Alert, Stand Straight, Be Courteous, and even Be Brave. But How was one to Be Strong?ย 

And Paul was Not speaking about ‘Becoming’ Strong.

So today, while I was casually watching TV, happened to come across the ‘Tales of Narnia (3),” and there, I think it was Aslan himself who told that girl,

“Be Strong;

Do Not Give in to Temptations!”

That made Very good sense indeed.

And quite an Important lesson for me. Here I am, struggling to bring my weight down, …I have brought it down from 85 kilos to 80, but want it Much lesser! And what was I doing? Popping a couple of Biscuits, or two small helpings of Peanuts, or two lozenges, into my mouth (It was always two, and sometimes as much as Six). Not a Mortal sin, for Sure, but my weight Remained where it was, and Grinned at me.

Weight-Watchers

So, Yesudas, Being Strong means Not giving in to Temptations.

It is Not just a question of Keeping Strict watch over one’s weight. I give in to playing too many games (Solitaire, Brick games) over the computer, I give in the temptation Not to walk, (that is going back to weight again), …Well, my list is Short nowadays, thanks to Decades of Very Hard Trying.

It isย Over to YOU now! ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is a small list of the Humankind’s common Weaknesses.

  • Procrastination
  • Wastefulness
  • Irritability
  • Uncaringness

In What All do YOU Need to be Strong? ๐Ÿ™‚

*******

6 comments

  1. Congrats on losing over 11 pounds! Whenever I’ve been in the midst of trying to lose a few pounds I lose patience with the pace. So maybe that’s the greater lesson: patience with the process. (Stress eating is a bear, huh? ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

