3 Words that Changed my Life!

*******

This is Again one of my Most Important posts. It is meant for General Readership, though references are made to the Bible and to Christ.

I have to Thank ‘Madelyn Griffith-Haynie’ (reference at the end of this post) for getting me going on this article. In our conversations, she had written: ‘People are desperate for answers.’ 

***

But What are the Questions? …I have not met Anybody who does not want Love, Happiness and Peace, and whatever they might say, finally, after all the running around and exhausting themselves, these three things are what they are searching for. So the question is: How to get Love, Happiness and Peace?

Child

Image from the Internet.

Children are the Perfect example of these gifts. This Child Feels Loved, He is Showing his Love., Feels no threats or worries., and Is Happy!

I got a Healthy amount of Love, Happiness and Peace by the Practice of:

Love, Forgiveness and Trust.

These are the Three words that changed my life. And though these are common words, I learnt their depth from Christian Teachings. To do Justice to these Three words, I would need to talk for about 8 hours on each of them, which I have done many a time, to Great Satisfaction all around. But here, it shall be Very short.

***

Love, Forgiveness and Trust are words to be Experienced and Practised. All of us already understand what is meant by them. So it is Not understanding We are after!

***

LOVE

Love has to be seen from Two aspects.

  • One is the Conviction that We are Loved, and
  • Secondly, To Be Loving Persons.

How Loved do we Feel? We have to be even BRUTALLY HONEST when dealing with these questions. No Use in Fooling around. After all, when We answer these questions, We are answering to ourselves, Nobody else. …Whatever the Situation, …There is Love. It might be Very, Very Hidden. But it Is there. That is what takes me all those hours!

I have already shared How being Rejected, and Feeling Rejected, was my Bane. Today I place the level of my Being Loved, my level of Loving Others, my Peace and Happiness at 80%. (I like to go by numbers). Most people stand at 30%. I speak as a Guru.

People seem to think that Loving, as a Verb, is all about Loving Oneself. That is Dog Manure. Any and Every fool is loving himself. Christ said: “Love One Another as I have loved You.” (John 13:34). He did NOT say: ‘Love yourself more.’ So-called preachers and teachers had better pay goodly attention to this.

Passion-of-the-Christ e

We All come back home Tired. That is How much We work for ourselves. Just HOW much have we worked for Others? For the Good of Others, without any profit to ourselves? How much time, effort and money have we given and spent on this? …No Pain, No Gain, my Friends. Real Love entails Suffering.

Jesus Died for Us. Have We even Sweated for Others? Unknown persons?

If We have Loved (Others), Love Comes Back to Us. Otherwise, The ‘Desperate Search for Answers’ Continues.

***

FORGIVENESS

Forgiveness is Absolutely Necessary if We are to have Peace. I have an 8,000+ word article, (as You know, it will be Very Readable!), which can and should be read at leisure. Particularly Those who are Searching for Peace will find this Satisfying. It is already uploaded; I have to go through it again, before publishing. And its title is: Forgiveness.

Here are the Salient points:

  • Not having Forgiven, Lack of Forgiveness – in other words, leads to many Diseases, particularly pertaining to the Respiratory track and organs.
  • We are Supposed to Forgive Only the Hurts caused by others. Forgiving Sin is God’s business, NOT ours.
  • We Forgive others Whether they ask for it or not. We Forgive even those who have passed away.
  • We Specifically Use the Words, ‘I Forgive You.’ (We will find out just How difficult this is!) And We are NOT supposed to tell it to them to their face.
  • We have to Wish the person who has Hurt us, Every Well Wishes. If We do not wish the person Well, We have Not Forgiven.
  • We Forgive for Anything and Everything. Rape, Murder… (Is there anything bigger than these?) And As many times as it might have happened. If it happens again, We Forgive Again.

***

TRUST

My Bane, as I have said, had been Anger, and anger starts with Irritability. I had Plenty of this too.

Today,

  • When I find the net ever-so-slow, though I have paid a goodly Rs. 948 for 28 days to Mr. Airtel for it, (We are informed that India ranks 123rd in the world in internet speed! Yuck),
  • When I find Squirrels and RATS running in what I can call my Attic, endangering my flimsy ceiling,
  • When Monkeys jump about with glee and abandon On the Tiles, shaking their placement and making the roof leak,

Have I not enough reasons to be Irritable? But that I am Not! I must admit that I noticed this myself, with a Lot of Thankfulness and Satisfaction and Surprise!

And I have reason to Worry, if not to be Anxious. I have 3 bank accounts, (one of them in the name of the Ashram), with a total savings of Rs. 8811.74. Even in an emergency, I can draw out only about Rs. 5,800, as a thousand has to be kept in the account as per their rules. And I have about a Thousand in my Cash Box, and 3 Thousand in Mad Money.

And I have, coming up, my Internet and Phone Recharges which will come to a Thousand, about 400 rupees for the electricity bill, And, about 2,000 rupees in promised help!

I subsist on Donations, and the Good Lord has seen Fit to bring it down to Rs. 3,700 this month.

YET I am at Peace. I Sleep Soundly, I am able to Enjoy my Food, and have No Sicknesses. This comes by Trust. I am Convinced, to the point where I would like to say ‘I KNOW,’ my Father would send me Whatever is necessary, where and when necessary.

Trust means Not Even Repeating what You have Asked the Lord.

Trust means Accepting, with the Firmest Determination, that

  • (God) The Father Knows what He is doing,
  • I am Safe in His Hands, and that
  • He is doing What is Best for me.

So Trust is Needed in what makes us Irritable, and what causes us Worry.

It is a matter, as I said, of Realization, and Not mere understanding. This comes only with Dhyaan. For Children, of course, it is Instinctual!

Father-playing-with-baby

***

Happy Answers to You!

All pictures from the Internet.

The reference to Madelyn’s post:

For a REALLY Happy New Year

*******

8 comments

  1. Lovely! And thanks so much for your acknowledgment and the link (where you readers can see our back and forth conversation in the comments).

    I believe we agree, even as we are looking from our own perspectives, products of our life experiences, the focus of our intellectual endeavors, and the countries in which we live.

    LOVE – yes, of course – letting love IN and sending it out is foundational – like the air we breathe. I believe that increasing the love implies boundary management. Some people stay in relationships that are not healthy for them because they think it is unloving to set boundaries. I may do an article on boundaries – it’s a huge topic – but I wanted to mention it briefly here.

    TRUST: As we have said before, I aspire to your level of trust – but I currently stand in your shadow. I doubt that I will ever get to a place some call “radical trust” – Mother Teresa became a saint because that kind of trust is rare. She may have found peace and happiness in the way she lived her own life, but I know that I would not. I am not her. I must find my own way — as we all must.

    “Trust in Allah, but tie your camel.” is a quote I relate to. In other words, *consequences* must be considered. Trusting that standing in the street as cars whiz by without hitting you is a foolish gamble. Yet I have met many who “trust” that God (or The Universe) will protect them from the consequences of foolish actions. I believe we have been given brains to USE them, not abandon them in the spirit of trust. In other words, we must play too – taking actions after we have considered our directions carefully.

    PEACE – freedom from worry. Unless one can be happy living under a bridge in a cardboard box, you will need at least *some* money and financial acumen. Yet working simply for a living is happiness deadening! American studies have indicated that meaningful work is ONE of the keys to happiness, so I would add that to your three words.

    Loving our conversations, but I must stop myself and turn my attention back to the many other things on my plate.
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello, Madelyn! Thank You! It is my usual

      practice to acknowledge ideas, etc!

      Glad We agree on those things. I do believe that

      Most people agree.

      On Trust, You are standing in the shadow of a

      match stick! …Have prepared one more post

      after reading these Your comments and before

      writing these lines, viz: ‘On Trust,’ with this

      link: http://wp.me/p4e7b5-1Um

      You have raised a Very, Very Important point when You say: ‘working simply for a living is happiness deadening!’ This is a Most serious, and Sad state of affairs, particularly in what are may be called 1st world countries, (have never heard of that name; but if there can be 3rd world ones, then…!).

      Philosophers, Economists, Religious leaders and politicians have to come up with some sort of answer to this.

      As for attending to responding to the comments, I seem to come to it After a short time at the Facebook and Twitter, blog posts to be written, ‘then’ attending to this. Am getting a huge number of comments nowadays. So am careful not to let them pile up!

      Regards. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

